Ensure Blog

What Is Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

uninsured motorist coverageWhat is uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage? Ever wonder what is really on your insurance policy? What coverage limit do I need? How much is it for all the bells and whistles? First lets start with the basic coverage’s you will see on your policy.


Uninsured motorist coverage protects you if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t carry liability insurance.
Underinsured motorist coverage, on the other hand, steps in when you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver whose liability limits are too low to cover the damage or medical expenses.

What does uninsured motorist cover?

  • Property Damage– pays to repair property damaged by a crash caused by someone without insurance.
  • Bodily Injuries and Liability– pays for medical treatment caused by an accident where you are at not at fault
  • Personal Injury Protection– pays for your medical bills up to a pee-designated limit including loss of income regardless of who is at fault

For no fault accident on the part of the policyholder, the insurance company is not allowed to increase premiums. One exception to this is if the policyholder files 3 or more claims under this insurance type in 5 years.

Uninsured motorist coverage is really a reasonable amount you pay to cover unexpected accidents where your regular basic car insurance will not cover because the fault lies with a third party or other driver with no insurance or insufficient to cover the expenses.

What is average uninsured motorist coverage by state?

Maryland
  • The uninsured motorist coverage is mandated by law just like in many other states
  • The uninsured motorist coverage in Maryland has a minimum limit of $30,000 per person and a $60,000 limit per incident. This only covers bodily injuries liability coverage.
  • The damage liability coverage under uninsured motorist has a minimum limit of $15,000 for every incident.
Delaware
  • The owner of a motor vehicle registered in the State of Delaware is required to purchase Bodily Injury Liability coverage with minimum limits of $15,000/$30,000 and Property Damage Liability coverage with minimum limits of $10,000
Virginia
  • Virginia law requires uninsured motorist coverage in all insurance policies issued or delivered in Virginia, and on all policies issued for vehicles “principally garaged” in Virginia.The difference between the two is that bodily injuries are medical costs, emergency care, and maybe even lifetime treatment. The property damage liability covers damages to your car by a person who has no or limited insurance.

Will uninsured motorist coverage cover hit and run cases?

Yes, uninsured motorist coverage includes hit and run cases but not in all states. You will have to check with your local insurance agent. In addition, there has to be proof presented such as police incident report, witnesses, and the assessment of the insurance company’s claims adjuster.
It would help if the license plate number of the hit and run car was taken or any description of the driver and the car.  Also, if your uninsured motorist coverage is limited bodily injuries, then you can claim for medical expenses under the terms of the insurance plan. If there is property damage included, then the policy owner can also claim for repairs on the car and other damaged property that may have been involved.

Not sure what you are covered for? Trust us, you are not alone. Many drivers simply get quotes and insurance estimates based on little knowledge. It is vital that you create and maintain a relationship with your insurance agent to ensure when or IF and accident occurs you know exactly what your are covered for and if there is any deductible. Contact one of our Insurance Architects today to discuss your options.